CREATING MOOD AND ATMOSPHERE

Creating mood and atmosphere

The first three exercises in this module have so far produced rather sombre, brooding results (unintentional!!!) and so I wanted to create for this exercise an atmosphere of joy and laughter.  My models for this are my daughter and my granddaughter enjoying a day at a park. I have always loved the paintings of Berthe Morisot and Mary Cassatt – they capture all of the beauty of tenderness expressed in motherhood.  I looked particularly at Sleepy by Mary Cassatt and also the painting, Breakfast. Berthe Morisot’s ‘Julie Writing’ also expresses this tenderness and is a powerful example for me of mark making.  I enjoy seeing the pencil strokes so prominent and the transitory sense of the activity is enhanced with this method.  I feel at any moment Julie will stop writing, get up and move out of view.  It’s all about capturing a moment!

The first study was in pencil – trying to move the pencil quickly over the page to capture a liveliness.  The picture was continually moving with Katie wanting to slide off her mother’s lap and laughing and shrieking all the time.

Expressing this then in paint proved interesting! I used the paint quickly, just blocking in the areas…simply couldn’t get the head so finished by just scrubbing it out. It was worth keeping the study because I was learning all the time.

 

 

 

 

I liked the second study better and felt the benefit of where I had failed in the last one.  The first outline was done with the dropper out of the acrylic ink bottle – great freedom of line as in the pencil sketch.  I kept this approach throughout especially in the application of the paint – just strokes, no detail!  Although there are things which are not right about the drawing, I really like the atmosphere of lightness and joy!

 

 

Still not satisfied with the image particularly in what I felt was an absence of depth in the picture, I painted another image from the last one.  In this fourth study there are parts which have now come right eg the faces of the two figures but I feel it has lost the spontaneity of the previous image.  I wanted depth but feel I have sacrificed the immediacy of a moment of joy!!! Very difficult!  How to achieve both…………..

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

