Part 4 – LOOKING OUT

At the end of the last assignment I felt to reach an interesting stage in my painting.  There was a feeling of freedom and confidence emerging in the use of  paint and this feeling had been particularly strong when I began to paint using my hands.  Perhaps it was the feel of the paint itself and the immediate connection with the paint surface.

As I begin this next project on Landscapes I want to continue to work in this way. My aim is to break down as many of the boundaries as I can within my limited knowledge.  I am really interested in mark making and want to extend the scope of this element .  I’m trying to assemble different tools to have available as I work and am finding that the more varied this element of the painting is the more interesting the outcome and the more unpredictable!

This focus on mark making and the tactile immediacy of the feel of the paint is helping me to break away from a rather cerebral approach to my work.  I’m also breaking up the surface of the paper with collage in order to allow for more experimentation as the painting progresses.

So let’s see what happens…I love the sense that I don’t know the outcome and so cannot control it…..

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

