The Garden Shed

 

Exercise 2:  The Garden Shed

I want to see what happens when I only work with two colours – blue and orange.

I began with a collage of magazine pictures of a garden and then built up the image of the garden shed from there.  Working with only two colours proved hugely challenging for me  and much of this first exercise is completely intuitive – bringing tones forward and then finding that I needed to take them back, mixing so many tones of blue and orange to arrive at cool tones and warm tones for the foreground.  This exercise is hours of work and layers of paint – when you change one area it impacts on another.  I got some glorious colours but the overall effect is …..well I don’t know what!  The brush had a mind of its own and I just went with it.  Loved doing it and I simply didn’t care if I messed up!

 

However what I found was that our eyes rely on the recognized colour of objects but if you take away the recognized colour then tone is all important because it’s all you have.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

