COLOUR -personal study

COLOUR

As this section of the course has progressed I am finding an increasing interest in colour.  Looking back I think this love of colour has always been there but now that I am painting it is becoming stronger. I find that I naturally am drawn towards using colour to express the response I am feeling to the image.  However my love for it is instinctive and has very little basis of knowledge or understanding.  So throughout the course I have been working on a sketchbook devoted entirely to trying to understand the theory of colour.  I don’t want this to become too intellectual but I am sure that some degree of understanding is necessary.

In this section of the course on Landscapes, I’ve felt the need to broaden my ‘vocabulary’ of colour…by this I mean that was finding that I was going to the same colours all the time in my painting.  Rather like writing when one’s vocabulary is limited, I wanted to explore the relationship of different colours in nature so that I could bring some subtlety to my use of colour in my painting.  This has become a fascinating study.

 

I have begun to compile a folder of photographs on my Ipad as reference material…..images of everyday things looking at the juxtaposition of colours, their intensity in the light and how colours relate to each other.  This has been a discovery and I am in danger of becoming obsessed with it.  It is quite extraordinary how much colour is around us and the infinite range of tones….just looking out of my studio window there must be at least 100 different tones of green!

Because my work seems to be going in the direction of using colour as a response, I want to broaden my use of combinations of colour…not sure if this is the way to go about it but I know it is developing a greater awareness of colour.

 

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

