…continuing with visual journal sketches

Colour sketch of flowers in border

Colour and composition

Many weeks have now been spent on collecting visual images, exploring different responses and experimenting with a variety of tools, techniques and materials. I need now to explore ideas about colour and composition in preparation for my final assessment paintings. I still have no idea what these final paintings will contain but I know that I am building up a storehouse of images during this preparation time.

Experimenting with colour combinations in the border of flowers.

 

Experimenting with changes in washes

 

 

The composition of the final paintings is now beginning to dominate my thought and the following images show different ideas of where I might go with this.

The path leading from the house

I’m intrigued with the idea of the two main elements of a garden – the structural and the ephemeral – I want to play around with this concept in my ideas for composition.

Strong horizontal red to emphasise structure and flat areas of colour for the graden…tried a shadow of a figure in the foreground to bring interest

Several other composition ideas were explored. Even though I still don’t have a clear idea of what images will emerge when I begin the final paintings, I feel that enough preparation work has been done and it is now time to paint final work to express my response to the garden.  I am aware of the many weeks spent  in this exploration/experimental time but feel that the time has been invaluable for me to be able to find my own language in the final pieces.  I feel to have immersed myself in the subject and I know that whatever comes through in the final images will be legitimate – they will be ‘real’ – because they will be coming from  an inner relationship with the garden. It is very tempting to be carried away with the gimmicky techniques and materials but this is not me.  It has been fun playing with them but my own visual language has to come through.

 

 

 

 

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

