Final paintings cont….

The third of my final pieces came quite by chance.

I walked out into the garden early one morning and was met with the most wonderful perfume from the Sweet Peas growing around the decking.  The bushes were covered with flowers which needed picking to encourage further growth.  Once these delightful flowers were in the vase they just had to be painted.

It wasn’t the colours so much which fascinated me, although these were beautiful – it was the dancing, rhythmic shapes of the flowers themselves which I wanted to capture.  There was almost no studies or preparation time given to this – I wanted the painting to be immediate.  So I went straight to the easel and began to paint.

However…….not as  easy as that!!I tried various methods and tools but simply could not get the lightness, the incredible shapes, the frivolous nature of this flower…the more I tried, the more it eluded me.  Finally after many hours’ work and a deal of frustration and steadily wilting flowers, I painted over all of my struggles, turned the paper around, and began to paint freely, holding the long brush handle at its far tip to avoid any feeling of control.  The brush danced over the paper to loud disco music and I felt at the end, that whatever else the painting lacks, at least there is a sense of joy and  movement! As a composition, probably not great……colours, probably not as they should be……but as a piece of expression of what I was feeling about the flowers, great!

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Final paintings cont….

  1. Your paintings are very free and expressive. I especially love the textures and layers of marks. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

