Picking up the pencil again….

It’s so long since I really ‘dug myself ‘ into a drawing!  There is nothing I love more than to find a subject which speaks to me and then completely absorb myself in drawing it.  I find I think with the pencil.

So when I found these wonderful hyacinth bulbs at the garden centre, big and fat, covered with a thin papery skin and just asking to be drawn, I couldn’t resist.  By the time I got them home, the thin paper bag they were in tore apart and the bulbs spilled out on the table.  So I grabbed a pencil and the nearest sketch book……

With some time at present to experiment, I have begun to play around with my IPad.  I have two great apps – one is called PAPER and the other is SKETCHBOOK. They are both great for drawing and capturing quick images and ideas. I am still learning how to use the tools and it was good to play with some of them in this quick image of one of the hyacinth bulbs…you can get wonderful free lines which suggest rather than accurately define.

 

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

