New courses

 

It’s been quite a while since I posted anything on this blog but a lot has been happening in the last two months.

I have now passed two of the painting modules for Level 1 in the OCA Painting Degree Course and it has been a great journey so far…lots of ‘highs’ and yes, lots and lots of ‘lows’ but all good in the learning process. I spent a long time considering what module to do next to finish off Level 1. “Watercolour Practice’ was the obvious choice but somehow I wanted more on the creative side. The stimulation of ideas and following through to find a personal language has been a dominant element in my work so far and I wanted something that would allow me to explore this further.

Finally I decided to take the plunge and sign up to do two course at the same time.  I knew it would be a huge amount of work but for some reason it felt right. So I decided on ‘Watercolour Practice’ and ‘Exploring Ideas’ from the Textile Course.  I must say when the two folders containing the outline of the courses arrived and I began to study them I felt overwhelmed and was convinced I had made a wrong decision.  But once I started, the joy of it all took over!  It is so great to be studying with the OCA which allows this kind of flexibility to meet the individual requirements.

Studying two subjects at the same time presents some difficulties with this online learning blog as it would be impossible for tutors and assessors to wade through two lots of learning notes.  So I am recording my detailed learning in two notebooks at the moment and I must say I am enjoying the physical writing process.  I want to use this online blog to record the general impact of the two courses on my personal creative expression.  That is the intention at the moment and so I will see how it works.  Nothing is compartmentalized in the creative journey so it will be interesting to watch the result.

 

 

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New courses

  1. mags says:

    It sounds hugely exciting! I look forward to seeing what transpires here….

Leave a Reply

