Starting ‘Watercolour Practice’

I felt quite apprehensive starting out on the ‘Watercolour Practice’ course even though I had already completed a painting course as part of Level One.  I had not found painting very easy always preferring the drawing medium – pencil, charcoal, soft pastels, chalk…everything dry!! I suppose also I was aware of how difficult the skills of watercolour were said to be and without a doubt in the beginning of the course this turned out to be true.

The first part of the course was basic, experimenting with the medium to see what it would do. I enjoyed this exploration but it certainly didn’t do anything to relieve my anxiety – it was as difficult as they said!  Everything seemed to come down to controlling the water content on the brush – sounds simple but not so!

I chose a very simple still life for the first assignment piece.  Beginning with a pencil study helped me to analyse the shapes and think through the tones. I then spent some time on watercolour studies of the objects because I felt very uncertain of how the paint would behave.

The final painting was fun to do and I felt, for a first attempt, it wasn’t bad.  I leant how much fun bananas are to paint!

IMG_2122

IMG_2124

   

IMG_2125IMG_1055

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

