WORKING with GREYS and BROWNS

Still life composition

Still life composition

I arranged a still life composition comprising 4 objects of red brown, yellow brown and grey with a colour highlight of cerulean blue.

First studies

First studies

As usual I began with a pencil sketch to analyse the composition and then painted 3 colour sketches. In the first of these, illustrated here, I worked closely with the actual colours of the objects.

In the next 2 colour sketches I played around with patterns of colours and colour relationships. I wanted to see if it was possible to increase the colour temperature of the image while still staying with browns and greys.

Final image

Final image

The final painting, I feel, is rather disappointing and I wonder if this is partly due to the amount of analysing which went into it.  But this was necessary as I really had so little knowledge or experience of colour relationships.  Even though the final piece is not good, I did learn a great deal through doing it, not only in terms of colour patterns but also basic skills of mixing and applying the washes.  There are so many skills involved in a simple still life composition such as this…at the time I wondered if I would ever feel to be in control!

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

