ASSIGNMENT 2: STILL LIFE with watercolour

First studies

First studies

Once again I started with pencil studies of a still life using a wooden mortar, a squash and 2 pomegranates, looking particularly at patterns and reflections. Moving on to colour studies, I began playing with the colours, mixing them on the paper surface.

Loose colour wash

Loose colour wash

I kept the approach very loose, working with colour relationships for the overall composition.  I was still very uncertain of how to handle the paint at this stage and was working intuitively. The concept of building up washes to indicate tone and form was exciting and still so difficult. Analysing the colour of the squash was so difficult.

 

 

IMG_1228I worked through 5 colour studies trying out different ideas and just struggling to get enough confidence to start the final image.

 

IMG_1235I always seemed to start with the intention of a representational image but something inside me always took over and the marks became looser and the paint was just doing its own thing. It is so beautiful to watch the paint flow!

IMG_1237Line seems to play an important part in my work and I have used pen and ink to define the objects with a very loose expressive mark. I really like some of these images.

FINAL IMAGE

Assignment 2

Assignment 2

The final image didn’t turn out the way I had imagined but I feel I achieved some understanding of colour associations in this painting and in the studies.  Layering of the washes was beginning to come together and I’m sure the effort put into the colour studies helped.  I think I like some of the studies better than the final painting and I can see definite progress in the handling of the paint.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

