AERIAL PERSPECTIVE

Decided to explore an image which I photographed from a the top floor of a hotel in Paris. The window opened out onto an amazing view across the rooftops of Paris with a distant view of Sacre Coeur.

This was the point in the course when I began to feel that all of the exercises on applying washes were beginning to come together.  There was a still a long way to go but I knew a change was happening in my approach.

I worked with various ideas in the sketchbook, with the emphasis being on the exploration of mark making using various tools. After 4 colour studies, the image for the final piece emerged.  I wanted to bring out some of the contrasts which I could see, for example…

-the details in the foreground in contrast to the distant view

-the rather jocular shapes of the chimneys in contrast to the serious, splendid beauty of the distant architecture

-the crude, rather ‘home-made’ nature of the chimneys in contrast to the architecture in the distance

Sacre Coeur

Sacre Coeur

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

