AERIAL PERSPECTIVE in a rural landscape

I loved this exercise as it allowed me to go back into the woods again and paint these wonderful areas near our home. It was also good to be drawing on the spot again and looking at the work now, I can see that my love of the subject comes through.

All of the work was done in the sketchbook, first the pencil drawings then coloured studies. Aerial perspective is all about colour and tone and so I spent time identifying how to use these elements to show distance.  As I stood looking at the long distance through the trees, I noticed that the tonal distance indicating distance began to appear quite subtly even with relatively close viewpoints.

I did two colour studies using the watercolour very freely and applying the paint with the brush and with sticks.  The sticks sharpened to a point made really energetic marks and contrasted well with the brush. The light coming through the trees was magic!  I found that after applying one or two washes to the foreground, the distant view began to recede automatically.

Esher Woods

Esher Woods

Esher Woods

Esher Woods

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

