PAINTING TREES in the landscape

Trees have always been a passion of mine so it was good to be back on familiar territory for a moment. I decided to use this exercise to go deeper into the properties of paint and to see where that would lead me.  Even though I had been using the watercolour in every exercise since the start of the course, I hadn’t really had the opportunity to learn more about the paint.

Quick sketch using opaque colours

Quick sketch using opaque colours

 

 

I went back to looking at the different properties of the pigments – the transparent, nonstaining pigments, the permanent staining pigments and the sedimentary and opaque paints. This was fascinating! I began to see how the different pigments operate and how artists use this. I explored the opaque paints in a quick drawing done with ink and a stick. I began with a wash of Aureolin Yellow and then added other colours, letting the paint mix itself on the surface.

 

The Setting Sun in Oxshott Woods.

I wanted to take my explorations into colour properties still further in this painting. One evening at the end of the day, I was struck by the incredible colours in the woods near where we live, with the oranges and yellows of the sun hitting the trees. In the painting I wanted to capture the contrast of the cool, shadowy, end-of-day feeling to the splashes of colour from the setting sun.  To achieve the contrast I experimented with a complementary palette, keeping a limited selection of colours. I chose the yellow/orange with its complement, a middle blue and added the cool analogous colours of cobalt and violet.

This painting was a milestone for me.  I felt to have totally understood washes and the beauty of the transparent colours.  Taking time to study more about colour and how to use it was important and I could see the difference in the outcome when thought is given to this in the early stages of a painting.

 

Setting Sun in Oxshott Woods

Setting Sun in Oxshott Woods

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

