ASSIGNMENT 4

The Old Tree

The Old Tree

As I look back over this module in the Watercolour Course, I’m amazed at the areas I’ve covered and the progress made.  I took a lot longer than expected but it was important for me to really get to grips with the various skills. Being required to paint each of the landscape elements – clouds, water,rocks, trees, animals and people – pushed the boundaries of my technical ability but in so doing, I learnt SO much! Looking at the work now, I can see a steady improvement in my control over the medium. At first I felt to be just ‘sloshing’ around in the water and paint but gradually I realised that this wasn’t happening any more.

The breakthrough came with the huge struggle to paint moving water!  I simply couldn’t do it! But, as I’ve found so many times before, when you really ‘push’ through at times like that, the results can be life changing. I think from that time on, I can see a change in the work.

This final painting of The Old Tree isn’t great but it represents for me a level of control and confidence which I needed to achieve. From that point of view I’m satisfied with it. It is ‘pure’ watercolour!

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

