DRAWING ON COLOURED GROUNDS

Still assessing tonal values and the contrast between cooler and warmer colours, I painted a monochrome study of the same image, working carefully through the tones.

image

 

 

 

I then painted a third study of this image in cool colours. By this stage I knew the image very well. Using tinted paper I chose a cool green to begin and put down a wash of Terre Verte – this is a very pale colour but really interesting. I then drew freely with the pen before applying another wash of darker tones using Perylene Green. I didn’t make any attempt to stay within the drawn shapes but was looking at the overall tonal value of the image. I brought in contrast by applying areas of Quinacridone Magenta.

I then redrew the image – very freely, sometimes in the same place as before, but more often than not, in different areas. This allowed more looseness and freedom in rendering the flower shapes. I continued to add darker washes to build up the tonal values.

image

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

