ABSTRACTION

ABSTRACTION!  Wow, what a subject to suddenly find yourself in at the final stages of the Watercolour Course. Even though I feel that I enjoy a looseness in my style of painting and love to give the medium a free hand, I soon came to see that abstraction is far more than just creativity, expressiveness, originality and individuality ( as the books say!

Photo of ancient tree

Photo of ancient tree

Throughout the module I continued to develop the theme of Ancient Trees.  This photograph of a close up image of the surface texture of an ancient tree was my starting point for the work.

Using resists experimentally

Using resists experimentally

I began by loosely drawing with a wax candle on the white surface, putting down the shapes and directional lines with broad free strokes. Then a wash was applied of cobalt blue and cadmium yellow. This revealed what I had drawn and it really wasn’t interesting. But it provided the basis for the painting. I had also put in some branches and twigs with masking fluid.. I then began working with salt and texture paste and added another wash. When this was dry I worked  on the surface with oil pastels and acrylic paint.  The acrylic paint broke down some of the initial wax lines that I was not happy with.

This experimental approach with resist techniques along with mixed media seems to suit my approach to painting and gives great scope for the unexpected. working ‘invisibly’ was exciting and gave scope for allowing my response to the textures to guide my hand.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

