COLLAGE MADE FROM RANDOM ELEMENTS

Collage from random elements

Collage from random elements

 

I still had the image of the ancient tree in my mind when I began this composition. A random selection of colours and shapes were put together with the tones of greens and orange found in pieces of dyed tissue paper. The pieces of paper fell in a kind of diagonal composition giving a strong directional pattern. I spent some time looking at the composition from different angles. This was a useful exercise and I saw new and exciting possibilities.

I began the painting with a wash over the whole composition.  This brought out some interesting textures because of the variety of papers I’d used. I then began to work on the dark areas with oil pastels, at the same time painting in the light areas with white acrylic. As this dried, I drew with black acrylic paint, not attempting to represent any one area or shapes but responding to the image. I then went back to the oil pastel, blue this time, feeling that the image was losing energy. Finally, I added orange acrylic ink freely across the surface.

This was an interesting exercise and I found real excitement in the creativity involved in discovering an image out of random elements. I think the final image has energy and movement and conveys something of the excitement I feel when looking at the surface of these trees.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

