MAGNIFICATION

Another completely new element of abstraction !

Magnification is all about ‘zooming’ in on areas of an image which are interesting. It suggests new ways of looking at an image and varying the approach to painting it. Once again I felt to be introduced to an intriguing area of study but not having the time to explore it fully or to develop its potential in my own work. So inevitably my attempts are simply a first stab at it and need to be seen as such. But the potential I can see in this subject as with the others on Abstraction is the development of the imagination and I find this very exciting.

I began by using the camera to photograph close up images of sections of  plants and everyday objects so that I could begin to ‘see’ abstract forms…a new way of looking for me! I did this also with sections of the bark of old trees and found some wonderful shapes and colours.

Isolated image from bark of old tree

Isolated image from bark of old tree

I worked from this image in a very loose, free style with no attempt reproducing the shapes. I interpreted the shapes purely in watercolour washes and then used blue oil pastel to highlight the shapes mad give definition. Once again there  was no attempt to reproduce what I was seeing. I looked at the image from all angles and decided that the most interesting was the landscape.

Abstract based on texture of old bark

Abstract based on texture of old bark

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

