THEMED COLLAGE and PAINTING

Themed collage RHYTHM

Themed collage
RHYTHM

I found this a very challenging exercise!

The exercise required me to assemble a number of items in a composition and then use this as the subject for a painting. For some reason it took me quite some time to put together the items for the initial collage. I wanted to continue with my theme of Old Trees with the particular focus being on the rhythm and energy of the pattern and beauty of the texture of the trunk which to me expresses something about age. So I was attempting to express this feeling of RHYTHM and LIFE in the painting.

The collage consisted of a piece of a photograph of an ancient tree trunk along with random wool pieces set in various colours of dyed tissue paper. I added pieces of dried grass and leaf, all of which had the same rhythm and movement as the pattern on the trunk. The painting wasn’t easy at all. Perhaps that was because I was trying to respond to an abstract concept in my mind rather than painting objects. I was attempting to use line and paint expressively.

Is the painting successful? How do you judge? I am aware that my tutor doesn’t think it is. However as I study it now, I can see and feel the rhythm and the movement of life in the tree which I was trying to express. But perhaps there is more to a painting being successful than just what the artist is feeling.  I’m struggling to understand the concept of ‘resolution’ in a painting. Perhaps this is all to do with composition and that all of the elements of composition have to be there in the painting as well as the ideas. ‘Ongoing learning’ I think!!!

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

