2. ROOTS

2. ROOTS

2. ROOTS

Painting 2 was a ‘blast’!

I wanted to create an image which would express the amazing assembly of shapes, spaces, colours, tones, patterns and joy which I see in a tree. The only way to do this, I felt, was as an abstract image. I wanted the painting to ‘sing’. In my many walks in the local woods there were some wonderful old pines where the ground has eroded revealing the incredible root structure. In contrast to the intricacy of this root structure is the uncompromising vertical direction of the trunk.

So I began to play around with these ideas. I made no attempt to draw the root patterns but instead let the paint find its way over the page in a random design. I let my feelings for the image guide me throughout this painting and really enjoyed the unknown element. As well as paint I used some wonderful coloured inks as well as oil pastels. Because I wanted to emphasise the random nature of the roots, I used pieces of hessian garden bags and pressed this into the wet paint. When it was dry I removed the hessian and it left behind a wonderful array of random colours and shapes….just the effect I wanted!

I love this painting … it expresses so much of what I feel for the tree. I like the figurative element remaining in the form of the trees but these too have an abstract quality. I have tried to show some figurative element in the roots but only very loosely as I didn’t want to disturb the abstract arrangement of shapes. I hope what I have achieved here is an impression of the magic of trees which stimulates the imagination of the viewer.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

