THEMES AND SERIES

I have now come to the final assignment in the Watercolour Course in which I have to paint a series of 5 pictures on a theme. There is so much more I want to say about these wonderful ancient trees than I’ve decided to continue exploring this theme in the series of 5 paintings.  The various exercises in this part of the course have challenged me to take my ideas into abstract form, looking beyond what the eye sees to the essence of what is real. This has involved a whole new way of looking at things and certainly requires a deep searching of personal responses. It has led me to ask myself, “Why do I love these trees? What is it about them which meets a response in me? How can I express that response in a visual image? Can this response be expressed best through colour, through line? Because the tree is just one object in the landscape, how does a composition need to be created which is visually pleasing? How can I stimulate the imagination to go beyond the obvious?”

This part of the course is entitled Widening your Options and it has certainly done that for me. It has been the most exciting and stimulating element allowing for experimentation and a widening of choice in the use of different grounds and media to express ideas. Having completed the Drawing and Painting Courses, this module in the Watercolour Course is a perfect culmination of Level 1 for me, allowing me to use the experience that I’ve had of materials to come together in this module. Throughout all of the courses my love of drawing and colour have remained constant and so these will feature in my series of paintings. My love of drawing has led to a great interest in the use of line in painting. I have loved exploring this by looking at how artists have used line in their work. It is an ongoing investigation and I’ve only just begun to touch on the subject but it has already had an effect on how I use line. But of all the media I’ve explored so far there is no doubt that watercolour remains the most exciting way of expressing my ideas.

The exercises so far will be forming the basis for this final series of paintings.

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Log notes - OCA - Painting 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

